top of page

Looking Back: Japan Solo Trip - Day 3: Kyoto (First Day)


It may be undeniably true that Tokyo, Osaka, and Kyoto form Japan’s three classic must-visit cities for first-timers. While Japan’s high-tech stuff, pop cultures, glimmering city life, and everything modern is usually associated which its giant metropolia, such as Osaka and Tokyo, it is Kyoto with which the traditional and the zen are mostly associated. Kyoto is rich in nature, adorned with serene shrines and tranquil, elegant temples, and is incredibly beautiful during autumn as the foliage turns brackish red and brown.


While to some visitors a visit to either of its metropolis will just do, others will have to agree that a visit to Japan is never complete without dropping by its ancient city which served as the capital city of Japan during the Edo period – Kyoto.


DAY 3: KYOTO

The bullet train I took in the morning from the Shin-Osaka station brought me to the Kyoto station in less than 30minutes. Exiting the Kyoto station from its West exit, crossing the road, and walking straight ahead for 8 minutes and I soon found myself in front of my next hostel, another J-Hoppers, where I spent 2 nights before making my way to Tokyo.

J Hoppers conveniently sells the Kyoto One Day Bus Pass, which I had been looking for. Just like the Nara Bus Pass, it allows unlimited rides on any local and raku buses (special buses that stop only at major sightseeing spots) for just 500yen – what a steal! There are 3 different raku buses that serve three different routes: bus 101, 102, and 103.


My Kyoto adventure began in Nijo Castle. It was an easy 10 minutes bus ride from the Kyoto Station. All I needed to do was to go to the bus terminal at the station and hop on the 101 bus.


Nijo Castle was of course not as touristy as the Osaka Castle, and yet there was this eclectic beauty of its rustic yet opulent building structures and its expansive yet soothing gardens.

The adventure at Nijo Castle was closed off by three sticks of sweet warm dangos (grilled sticky rice balls) at the souvenir shop, which also served as a canteen.

The next stop was the Kitano Tenmagu shrine. If you plan to visit it in January, especially near the beginning of the year, expect lots and lots of high school students crowding this shrine to pray for success in their upcoming tests and future studies. This is due to the fact that the Kitano Tenmangu Shrines is closely associated with Tenjin, the Shinto god of education.


I wish I could have visited it during the cherry blossom season or in the autumn ‘cause I saw the pics and they were simply amazing!

The main shrine, fringed by several other sub-shrines, was crowded with people offering their prayers who were mainly locals. It also spotted some huge golden lanterns, similar to those I had previously seen adorning the Yasaka Jinja Shrine in Nara (See my Day1).

Local visitors believe that touching the ox statue’s head and then touching their heads back will make them smarter. Did I do so? I hear you cry. Well, I did.

There was this guy that I met here who told me that he was bringing his daughter to pray for her upcoming exam. We sat at one of the small buildings that overlooked the main shrine while having a friendly conversation. As the conversation developed, he told me that being an adult was a pain in the ass. He said that one day I would eventually experience it and that I should really treasure the time I spent in the present.


From the Kitano Tenmangu Shrine, a rickshaw took me to one of the most celebrated temples in the entire Kyoto, Kinkakuji – the golden pagoda. It just so happened that my phone would slip off my pocket and fell onto the set. How very marvelous! Thx god the new (at that time) Sony Xperia Z was not only water-resistant but also very durable, getting away with no serious damage, just some scratches. (I'm not advertising in any way)


After paying the entrance fee at the ticket counter, a huge lake surrounded by lush greeneries welcomed me. There in distance, by the lake and behind the sea of people posing for pictures was the golden pagoda itself standing in tranquility.

There was a one-way path that took the visitors back to the entrance/ exit gate.

Along the pathway, there were these statues in front of which lay a small offering bowl, into which visitors tried with all their might to throw coins from distance. A guy actually managed to pull it off. Another instant money-making machine here.

Ninnaji temple was supposed to be my next destination, but sadly, it was already closed for entry as it was already 6 pm.

These are the only pictures I managed to get of Ninnaji upon its closing time. There was a huge lake flocked by short-billed ducks in front of the main entrance.

This dreary-looking view of the temple entrance transforms drastically in autumn when the leaves turn maple red and ginger brown.

Dejected, with the help of google maps, I brought myself back to the Kyoto station, where I had my dinner at the Ramen Village on the 4th floor of a department store that was directly connected to the station. The ramen I had was probably one of the best that I’ve ever tasted. The broth was thick and there was plenty of bamboo shoot. It was quite unfortunate that my phone’s battery had already given up on me, and hence, the absence of its picture.


Probably what I really love about staying in hostels is the fact that guests and hosts are bound to be closer. Guests can share their experiences of their travels and get to know each other while hosts can give tips and helpful suggestions to the guests. We even played the Wii together before hitting the hay. (The hostel guy was too good at Mario Kart LOL).

Day 2 Expenses

Kyoto 1 Day Bus Pass 500 yen

Breakfast: Bento from Lawson 300 yen

Admission Nijo Castle: 600 yen

Admission Kitano Tenmangu: free (Now 700 yen)

Rickshaw: 1000 yen

Lunch: Dango + Drink 500 yen

Admission Kinkakuji: 400 yen

Dinner: Free spaghetti from the hostel guests (lol)


bottom of page