top of page

Looking Back: Japan Solo Trip - Day 2: Osaka


Osaka is Japan’s second largest and most populous metropolis after its eastern counterpart, Tokyo. It is the most convenient gateway in travelling the Kansai area because Osaka serves as the central access point in reaching other points of interest in the Kansai area, such as Nara, which I had visited the day before, and Kyoto, which I would visit on the following day. Most people know Osaka for its Universal Studio Japan that has been attracting tourists and movie enthusiasts for years. Some know it for its never ending culinary adventure ironically symbolized with its ever-bustling Dotonburi


Since I had visited Dotonburi in the Namba area on the previous day, I decided that the second day of this trip would be spent on venturing around Osaka’s city center itself.


DAY 2 - OSAKA

My morning was kicked by a hearty bowl of gyudon at the nearby Yoshinoya, just right next to the Fukushima Station entrance. It was my first time having Yoshinoya’s gyudon in Japan, but I gotta say it wasn’t very much different to its counterparts in Jakarta. In Japan, however, they serve a wider variety of menu, such as butadon (pork bowl) or even sukiyaki with raw egg and rice, which I really love.


The night before, I’d expected a sleepless night, not because I would have to get used to the bunk bed, but more because I’d imagined that I would be constantly alert as my bed was only separated from the others by a curtain, plus my luggage, though properly locked, was just lying down on the floor. I’m guessing this would be the normal reaction for anyone staying at a hostel for the very first time.


To explore the city conveniently I first went to the Tourist Information Center at the Osaka Station to get myself the 2000 yen Osaka One Day Pass, which offers you for one day free ride on the local buses and trains (not JR), free entry to some main city attractions, and discounts at various shops and some other tourist attractions.


My first destination was none other than the long-celebrated Osaka Castle (Osakajyou). Despite getting off at its closest station, Tanimachi-yon-chome Station, it was still quite a walk to actually get there.


From afar the green roof of the castle was already visible.


Since it originally used to be a real castle, or should I say a fortress, the grand castle complex was strategically separated from the outlaying areas by canals that served as a defensive measure in the past.


It was still like 9-10am in the morning but it was already crowded with locals, and there were also food stalls selling snacks around the area.


PROBLEM arose when I realized that I had lost my freakin one day pass! As a result, I couldn’t get into the castle building and had to be content with just gazing at it from outside. Dejected, I decided to go back to the Tourist Information Center at the Osaka Station to buy a new one while enjoying my walk there at the Osaka castle park.


And soon, there I was, back at the Tourist Information Center at Osaka Station, asking the same clerk that had handed me the card an hour ago to get me a new one. When I was bracing myself to spend another 2000 yen, the lady, however, asked me where I thought I might have dropped it and told me that if I’d dropped it at a train station or in the train, people might have taken it and reported it to the station staff. I told her that the only two stations I’d visited were the Tanimachi-yon-chome Station near the Osaka Castle and the Higashi Umeda Station where I had to transfer train.


JAPAN O’ JAPAN! A swift 3minute phone call to each of the stations I mentioned, and voila my card had been miraculously found!!!!!! She told me that a staff at Higashi Umeda station was waiting for me and that I could take a train to get there for free just for this time. Without further ado, I rushed to where I’d been pointed and claimed back my card – behold, Japan!


I did realize that so much time had been wasted, and so I decided to catch up with my plan and thought of going back to Osaka Castle in the afternoon.


My second destination was the Osaka Bay area, where Osaka’s largest ferris wheel, the Tempozan ferris wheel, towers up more than 115 meters, giving us panoramic views of the bay area and its surroundings.

Sadly, it was out of order and I, therefore, had to make do with just taking pics of it – two consecutive misfortunes, but hey I got my card back.


Aside from the ferris wheel, there were some other worth-a-visit attractions, such as the Osaka Aquarium (Kaiyukan), Mount Tempozan, Naniwa Food Theme Park, and the Santa Maria cruise, which was the only one I got to experience among them because it was the only one completely free of charge thanks to the magical card.

The Santa Maria cruise, as some of you may see, is a smaller replica of the original Santa Maria Ship that was actually sailing hundreds of years ago and was captained by the very Christofer Columbus.


Onboard, there were a café, a small museum exhibiting stuff related to Columbus’ voyage, and the very statue of the past captain himself.


The cruise sailed along the bay area passing by the notorious Universal Studio Japan and going under the crimson red Minato Bridge before making its way back to the port.


Personally. I really enjoyed the refreshing cruise as I chowed down some yakisoba from the café onboard. The yakisoba wasn’t anything special but enough to please my upset stomach, but overall I would say that the cruise was totally recommended for anyone looking for an opportunity to just chill and unwind in Osaka. Not to mention, it is free!


It was almost 4pm and I knew very well once the ship had docked perfectly, I was to rush off and make my way back to where I had gone to in the morning – the Osaka Castle.


Back at the Osaka castle, I found something quite peculiar - a time capsule buried and sealed to commemorate the EXPO ’70.


This time I made sure I went all the way inside the castle building, which, again, for free, thanks to the card. The castle served as a 3-storey museum showcasing mainly relics of the Shogunate era.



The observatory area on the top floor gave visitors so spectacular views of the castle complex and the city that these pictures don't do justice at all.



Evening struck and I soon made my way to the Umeda area where the Umeda Sky Building, is located. It is one of the tallest skyscrapers in Osaka, and it houses the Floating Garden Observatory on the 39th floor which offers stunning night views of Osaka.

It was kinda daunting at first since there was almost nobody on the ground floor, so I thought it was already closed. When I asked a security officer in front of the building, however, he told me that I could access the observatory through the elevator. Oh again, it was completely free of charge.


While the ground floor was almost devoid of any sign of life, the 39th floor was already bustling with shops and visitors. As far as I can remember, the 39th floor was free of charge regardless if you had the Osaka Day Pass or not, but those without the pass wanting to access the Open Air Viewing Platform had to pay 1000 yen. This is why the Osaka Day Pass was such a steal!


The day was sealed off with a visit to the Yodobashi Camera near the HEP Five Osaka to get myself a new phone case before making an early return to the hostel to pack my stuff, for the day after that I would be moving to a new hostel in Kyoto. Yodobashi Camera is one of Japan’s electronic store giants whose branches can widely be found in most big cities, with the Akihabara branch as its biggest. It offers one stop shopping for all electronic stuff ranging from video games to cameras.


As much as I love eating, I can proudly say Osaka will forever remain on the top of my list when it comes to culinary adventure, especially Dotonburi which offers you unlimited smorgasbord of vibrant city night life and sprawling restaurants and street foods. That aside, I might have to be back again one day to have a taste of its most glorified tourist magnet, the Universal Studio Japan. Still, If you know me well, you can probably tell already which I’d rather go to if I ever come back to Osaka again, USJ or Dotonburi?


Day 2 Expense

Osaka 1 Day Pass 2000 yen

Breakfast: Gyudon at Yoshinoya 350 yen

Lunch: Yakisoba 500 yen

Dinner: Bentou from Lawson 250 yen


bottom of page